Monday, October 8 2018
The state of Oregon has much to offer its residents in terms of landscape. From the wilderness and gorgeous ocean views to the west to the America desert to the east, Oregon is home to a multitude of animals and plant life. Some popular tourist destinations include Mt. Hood, the Columbia Gorge, and the drive along Route 1 with its impressive sunsets. CheapCarInsuranceco.com has gathered information on car insurance here in the Beaver State so that its drivers can enjoy the state with no hassles knowing they are safe.
As an Oregon resident, you probably know that the weather is always changing just like the driving laws and regulations. We have a list of up to date and crucial Oregon driving facts that will help our drivers through the car insurance process. Minimum Requirements for Car Insurance in Oregon
In the state of Oregon, drivers are required to acquire and maintain Personal Injury, Liability, and Uninsured driver Insurance on all vehicles registered in the state. Oregon’s Department of Motor Vehicles brochure, Consumer’s Guide to Car Insurance, is available to residents that want to insure their vehicle.
Bodily injury liability: $35,000/$55,000 minimum
Property Damage Liability: $10,000 minimum
Per Accident to Cover Property Damages: $35,000
Accident Involving Injury: $55,000
Minimums for Personal Injury Protection: $15,000
In order to operate a vehicle within the state, all drivers are required to acquire a license. Those who are ages 15 to 17 are eligible to apply for a Provisional Permit before applying for their full license. This permit restricts the driver to only driving with another licensed driver who is at least 21 years old, has had their license for at least three years, and must sit in the seat next to the driver. Those who wish to apply for a license must meet the following requirements:
They must pass the knowledge test and pass a vision screening.
They must have maintained their permit for at least six months.
They must successfully complete a driver’s education course with fifty hours of driving or complete one hundred hours of driving.
The use of cellphones including hands-free devices and texting is prohibited.
In the first six months, this permit has several restrictions including: The applicant may not have unrelated passengers under the age of 20 in the vehicle. They may not drive between the hours of 12 AM and 5 AM. In the second six months, The applicant may not have more than 3 unrelated passengers that are under the age of 20. They may not drive between the hours of 12 AM and 5 AM. Cellphone use is prohibited.
If the applicant has successfully completed the requirements for the permit and provisional license they may apply for a Class C license.
The Vision Screening: The state tests the driver’s eyesight upon receiving their license and at every 8-year license renewal once the driver reaches the age of 50. The driver must have a visual acuity of 20/70 with a field of vision of at least 110 degrees. Some drivers may be given daylight driving restrictions if they have a visual acuity between 20/40 and 20/70. Drivers may wear corrective lenses. Written Test: The applicant must successfully pass a test on the Oregon Driver’s Manual. The DMV provides two practice tests on their website. Road Test: The skills needed to pass this test are outlined in the Oregon Driver’s Manual. The applicant will need to furnish a vehicle for the test that is safe, registered, and insured. In order to pass this test, the applicant must demonstrate various driving skills while operating the vehicle safely. If the applicant does not pass the driving test, applicants under 18 are required to wait 28 days before they retake the test. Drivers who are 18 and over are required to wait 7 days to retake the test.
Regular Class C: $60 Instruction Permit: $23.50
The BAC limit as per Oregon Law is .08. A DUI conviction carries the following
Jail: 48 hours to 1 year
License Suspension for 1 year
A maximum fine of $2,000
Mandatory Ignition Interlock
Second Offense within 10 Years:
Jail: Up to 1 Year
License Suspension of 3 years
Fine between $2,000 and $10,000
Mandatory Ignition interlock
Third Offense Within 5 Years:
Jail: Maximum of 5 Years
Permanent License Suspension
Fine between $2,000 to $10,000
A first offense carries a one year suspension and up to a $1,000 fine.
A second offense carries a three-year suspension and up to a $1,000 fine.
A third offense carries a three-year suspension and up to a $1,000 fine.
Drivers should be aware of Oregon’s Zero Tolerance Law as it pertains to underage drinking and driving convictions.
Oregon’s Distraction.gov bans all cell phone use for novice drivers. The ban on texting and handheld use extends to all drivers in the State.
Oregon has its fair share of unique and even zany laws that will leave you wondering why they were instilled in the first place. For example, the deceased are not allowed to serve on a jury. If you are passionate about roller skates, you will need to know that Portland law forbids you from wearing them in the restroom. You will also find it is against the law to hold a wedding at a roller skating rink. If your passion is underwater whistling or boxing with kangaroos, you may have some trouble in the Beaver State. If not, your drive through Oregon will be a breeze!
Oregon Additional Resources
Find Insurance by StateCar Insurance Alabama| Car Insurance Alaska| Car Insurance Arizona| Car Insurance Arkansas| Car Insurance California| Car Insurance Colorado| Car Insurance Connecticut| Car Insurance Delaware| Car Insurance Florida| Car Insurance Georgia| Car Insurance Hawaii| Car Insurance Idaho| Car Insurance Illinois| Car Insurance Indiana| Car Insurance Iowa| Car Insurance Kansas| Car Insurance Kentucky| Car Insurance Louisiana| Car Insurance Maine| Car Insurance Maryland| Car Insurance Massachusetts| Car Insurance Michigan| Car Insurance Minnesota| Car Insurance Mississippi| Car Insurance Missouri| Car Insurance Montana| Car Insurance Nebraska| Car Insurance Nevada| Car Insurance New Hampshire| Car Insurance New Jersey| Car Insurance New Mexico| Car Insurance New York| Car Insurance North Carolina| Car Insurance North Dakota| Car Insurance Ohio| Car Insurance Oklahoma| Car Insurance Oregon| Car Insurance Pennsylvania| Car Insurance Rhode Island| Car Insurance South Carolina| Car Insurance South Dakota| Car Insurance Tennessee| Car Insurance Texas| Car Insurance Utah| Car Insurance Vermont| Car Insurance Virginia| Car Insurance Washington| Car Insurance West Virginia| Car Insurance Wisconsin| Car Insurance Wyoming |
Popular CitiesNew York| Los Angeles| Chicago| Houston| Philadelphia| Phoenix| San Antonio| San Diego| Dallas| San Jose| Austin| Jacksonville| San Francisco| Indianapolis| Columbus| Fort Worth| Charlotte| Detroit| El Paso| Seattle