Thursday, January 17 2019
At the northwestern corner of the contiguous United States you will find the gorgeous forests of evergreens, mountains, and wide-open spaces of the state of Washington. Even though 62% of the population calls the Seattle area home, the tourists are drawn to attractions like the ski resorts of the North Cascades, the rainforests of the Olympic Mountains, and the agriculture of the Blue Mountains. Washington offers its residents and guests a multitude of climates in one state along with a variety of beautiful scenery. If you choose to drive through this state, you’ll want to have time to enjoy all of it! That’s where CheapCarInsurance.net comes in with the following list of car insurance facts and laws for Washington.
State laws and regulations for insurance can leave drivers confused! This list was compiled after diligent research to bring peace of mind to Washington drivers.
Bodily injury liability: $35,000/$55,000 minimum
Property Damage Liability: $10,000 minimum
Minimum Requirements for Car Insurance in Washington Drivers are required to purchase liability insurance and a liability bond. They must also pay a deposit to the Washington State Treasurer.
Per injury in traffic accident: $55,000
Traffic accident in which property was damaged: $10,000
Minimum Liability Bond: $60,000
If a driver fails to provide proof of insurance, they will be issued a citation. Licensing Requirements
The Department of Motor Vehicles in Washington requires each new driver to gain practice in driving before applying for and obtaining a regular license. These requirements vary depending on the applicant’s age.
Instruction Permit: If an applicant is enrolled in an approved driver education course, they are eligible to obtain their permit at age 15. If not, they will be able to obtain their permit at 15 years, 6 months. They will need to complete the knowledge test and the vision test.
For as long as the permit is valid, the applicant may drive with a licensed driver. This driver must have held their license for 5 years or more. The applicant must log 40 hours of driving plus 10 hours of night driving while holding this permit.
The permit is valid for one year and applicants who are under 18 must hold the permit for a minimum of six months before applying got their license. Those who are 18 or older do not have this time requirement.
If the requirements for the Instruction Permit are fulfilled, the applicant is eligible to take the road skills test and apply for the full driver’s license. If the applicant is under 18 and receives their license, the following restrictions are in place:
First 6 months: Only immediate family members with up to one passenger under 20 allowed in vehicle.
Next 6 Months: Only immediate family members with up to three passengers under 20 allowed in vehicle.
First 12 Months: No driving unsupervised between 1 AM and 5 AM. Cell Phone use is prohibited.
Vision Screening: Applicants must have a visual acuity of 20/40 or better with a 110-degrees or better field of vision. They may take the test with or without corrective lenses. The lenses, if used, must be worn at all times while driving.
Knowledge Test: 20 out of 25 multiple-choice questions must be answered correctly in order to pass this test. The Washington State Driver’s Manual will provide all the information needed to pass the test. If the applicant fails the test the first time, they make retake the test after 4 hours. If they fail a second time, they must wait a day to retake the test.
Road Test: The test administrator shall inspect the applicant’s vehicle for the following equipment:
Driver door window must roll down
Passenger door functioning properly
Brakes and brake lights
The applicant will need a score of 80 to pass. Retest times will vary by testing facility. The DMV website provides more information for the specifics of the driving test.
Fees that are Required from every Applicant:
Learner Permit: $25
Regular License: $89
The BAC Limit is .08. DUI offenses and their definitions can be found in Washington’s State Law R.C.W. § 46.61.502. This is a brief overview of the major penalties…
License suspension: 90 days to 1 year
Fine: $850 to $5,000
Imprisonment: 24 hour to 1 year
Ignition Interlock Device (IID) installed on the driver’s vehicle(s)
Second Offense within 7 years:
License suspension: 2 to 3 years
Fine: $1,100 to $5,000
Imprisonment: 30 days to 1 year
IID installed on the driver’s vehicle(s)
Third Offense within 7 years:
License suspension: 3 to 4 years
Fine: $1,200 to $5,000
Imprisonment: 90 days to 1 year
Ignition Interlock Device (IID) installed on the driver’s vehicle(s)
First Offense: Mandatory license suspension of 1 year
Second Offense: Mandatory license suspension of 2 years
Third Offense: Mandatory license suspension of 3 years
Texting and Driving Laws
Drivers who are still novices are not allowed to use a cell phone while driving, and no drivers in the state are allowed to text or use a handheld cell phone device while driving.
Washington’s laws are unique enough that they often require no explanation. There is a law that prevents residents from riding an ugly horse. We do not know how they determine what makes the horse ugly. They are not allowed to fish with a rock and fake wrestling is illegal. Residents are also forbidden from giving “noxious substances” to a bird in a city park.
Wasgington Additional Resources
Find Insurance by StateCar Insurance Alabama| Car Insurance Alaska| Car Insurance Arizona| Car Insurance Arkansas| Car Insurance California| Car Insurance Colorado| Car Insurance Connecticut| Car Insurance Delaware| Car Insurance Florida| Car Insurance Georgia| Car Insurance Hawaii| Car Insurance Idaho| Car Insurance Illinois| Car Insurance Indiana| Car Insurance Iowa| Car Insurance Kansas| Car Insurance Kentucky| Car Insurance Louisiana| Car Insurance Maine| Car Insurance Maryland| Car Insurance Massachusetts| Car Insurance Michigan| Car Insurance Minnesota| Car Insurance Mississippi| Car Insurance Missouri| Car Insurance Montana| Car Insurance Nebraska| Car Insurance Nevada| Car Insurance New Hampshire| Car Insurance New Jersey| Car Insurance New Mexico| Car Insurance New York| Car Insurance North Carolina| Car Insurance North Dakota| Car Insurance Ohio| Car Insurance Oklahoma| Car Insurance Oregon| Car Insurance Pennsylvania| Car Insurance Rhode Island| Car Insurance South Carolina| Car Insurance South Dakota| Car Insurance Tennessee| Car Insurance Texas| Car Insurance Utah| Car Insurance Vermont| Car Insurance Virginia| Car Insurance Washington| Car Insurance West Virginia| Car Insurance Wisconsin| Car Insurance Wyoming |
Popular CitiesNew York| Los Angeles| Chicago| Houston| Philadelphia| Phoenix| San Antonio| San Diego| Dallas| San Jose| Austin| Jacksonville| San Francisco| Indianapolis| Columbus| Fort Worth| Charlotte| Detroit| El Paso| Seattle